Click here for a list of past award recipients

Call for Nominations - Section Officers and Section Awards

Section Officers 
New officers will be elected at the Section’s business meeting during the 2016 annual meeting: a Chair-Elect (2017-18), Section Treasurer (2016-18), and two members of the Executive Committee (2016-18). 

Nominations or self-nominations should be submitted by May 1, 2016, to the chair and members of the nominating committee:
Melinda Gann Hall (Chair), Michigan State University (hallme@msu.edu)
Rachel Ellett, Beloit College (ellettr@beloit.edu)
Joe Ura, Texas A&M University (jura@tamu.edu)
Georg Vanberg, Duke University (georg.vanberg@duke.edu)
Emily Zackin, Johns Hopkins University (ezackin1@jhu.edu)


Section Awards
Lifetime Achievement Award
Given for a lifetime of significant scholarship, teaching and service to the Law and Courts field.  Nominees must be political scientists who are at least 65 years of age or who have been active in the field for at least 25 years. Nominations from previous competitions will be carried forward to the current year’s competition. The committee will retain nominations for 3 years, but you are invited to re-nominate an individual and renew the materials in the file during each cycle. Nominations may be made by any member of the Section and should consist of a statement outlining the contributions of the nominee and, if possible, a copy of the nominee’s vitae.  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Lifetime.

Nominations should be submitted before March 15, 2016, to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Susan Haire (Chair), University of Georgia (cmshaire@uga.edu)
Rachel Caufield, Drake University (rachel.caufield@drake.edu)
Ken Kersch, Boston College (kenneth.kersch.1@bc.edu)
David Law, Washington University in St. Louis (davidlaw@wustl.edu)
Christine Nemacheck, College of William & Mary (clnema@wm.edu)

 

Best Graduate Student Paper Award
This award (formerly the CQ Press Award) is given annually for the best paper in the field of law and courts written by a graduate student. To be eligible, the nominated paper must have been written by a full-time graduate student. Single- and co-authored papers are eligible. In the case of co-authored papers, each author must have been a full-time graduate student at the time the paper was written. Submitted papers may have been written for any purpose (including papers written for seminar, scholarly meetings, and for potential publication in academic journals). This is NOT, however, a dissertation or thesis prize.* Papers may be nominated by faculty members or by the students themselves. The papers must have been written during the twelve months previous to the nomination deadline. Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Graduate.

Nominations should be submitted before March 15, 2016, to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Justin Wedeking (Chair), University of Kentucky (justin.wedeking@uky.edu)
Morgan Hazelton, St. Louis University (hazeltonml@slu.edu)
Matthew Hitt, Louisiana State University, (mhitt2@lsu.edu)
Martha Ginn, Augusta University, (mginn@gru.edu)
Alicia Uribe, University of Illinois, (aburibe@illinois.edu)

 

* Note: The Corwin Prize is a dissertation prize for the field of public law, and that is administered by the APSA. Information on that prize can be found here: http://www.apsanet.org/PROGRAMS/APSA-Awards/Edward-S-Corwin-Award.

 

C. Herman Pritchett Award for Best Book
Given annually to the best book on law and courts published in the previous year (2015).  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Pritchett.  Please note that case books and edited books are not eligible for consideration. Books may be nominated by publishers or by members of the Section. 

To be considered for this year's competition, a nomination letter and copy of the book must be submitted prior to March 15, 2016, to the chair and to each member of the selection committee:
Christopher Zorn (Chair)
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Political Science
226 Pond Lab
University Park, PA 16802
(zorn@psu.edu)

Deborah Beim
Yale University
Department of Political Science
P.O. Box 208301
New Haven, CT 06520 - 8301
(deborah.beim@yale.edu)

Stephen Bragaw
Washington & Lee University
Department of Politics
212 Holekamp Hall
204 W. Washington St.
Lexington, VA 24450
(bragaws@wlu.edu)

Eve Ringsmuth
Oklahoma State University
Department of Political Science
201 Murray Hall
Stillwater, OK  74078
 (eve.ringsmuth@okstate.edu)

Joseph Smith
University of Alabama
Department of Political Science
Box 870213
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0213
(josmith@bama.ua.edu)

 

Best Conference Paper Award
This award (formerly the American Judicature Society Award) is given annually for the best paper on law and courts presented at the previous year’s annual meetings of the American, International, or regional political science associations. Single- and co-authored papers, written by political scientists, are eligible. Papers may be nominated by any member of the Section.  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Conference.

Nominations should be submitted before March 15, 2016, to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Paul Collins (Chair), University of Massachusetts, Amherst (pmcollins@legal.umass.edu)
Rachael Hinkle, University at Buffalo (rkhinkle@buffalo.edu)
Scott Lemieux, College of St. Rose (slemieux02@gmail.com)
Salmon Shomade, University of New Orleans (sshomade@uno.edu)
Jeffrey Yates, Binghamton University (jyates@binghamton.edu)

 

Lasting Contribution Award
Awarded annually to a book or journal article, 10 years old or older, that has made a lasting impression on the field of law and courts.  Only books and articles written by political scientists are eligible; single-authored works produced by winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award are not eligible. Any member of the Section may submit a nomination. The nomination should include a statement outlining the nature of the contribution of the nominated work.  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Lasting.

To be considered for this year's competition, a nomination letter and copy of the book or article must be submitted prior to March 15, 2016, to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Ryan Owens (Chair), University of Wisconsin (rjowens@wisc.edu)
Chris Bonneau, University of Pittsburgh (cwbonneau@gmail.com)
Gbemende Johnson, Hamilton College (gxjohnso@hamilton.edu)
Maya Sen, Harvard University (maya_sen@hks.harvard.edu)
Patrick Schmidt, Macalester College (schmidtp@macalester.edu)

 

Best Journal Article Award
Given annually to the best journal article in the field of law and courts written by a political scientist and published during the previous calendar year (2015). Articles published in all refereed journals and in law reviews are eligible, but book reviews, review essays, and chapters published in edited volumes are not eligible. Journal editors and members of the section may nominate articles.  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Journal.

Nominations should be submitted before March 15, 2016, papers should be sent (as a PDF, electronically) to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Melinda Gann Hall (Chair), Michigan State University (hallme@msu.edu)
Lori Hausegger, Boise State University (lorihausegger@boisestate.edu)
Andrew O'Geen, Davidson College (anogeen@davidson.edu)
Douglas Rice, University of Mississippi (drrice@olemiss.edu)
Albert Yoon, University of Toronto (albert.yoon@utoronto.ca)

 

Teaching and Mentoring Award
Given annually to recognize innovative teaching and instructional methods and materials in law and courts. Examples of innovations that might be recognized by this award include (but are not limited to) outstanding textbooks, websites, classroom exercises, syllabi, or other devices designed to enhance the transmission of knowledge about law and courts to undergraduate or graduate students.  Any member of the section may make a nomination for the Teaching and Mentoring Award by submitting a statement identifying the nominee and outlining the nature of their innovation and the contribution it makes to achieving the purposes of the award (e-mail attachments, in the form of .pdf files, are acceptable). The Teaching and Mentoring Award is supported by a generous contribution from the Division for Public Education of the American Bar Association.  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Teaching.

Nominations should be submitted before March 15, 2016, to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Richard Pacelle (Chair), University of Tennessee (rpacelle@utk.edu)
Jennifer Bowie, University of Richmond (jbowie@richmond.edu)
Alyx Mark, North Central College (admark@noctrl.edu)
Laura Moyer, University of Louisville (laura.moyer@louisville.edu)
Teena Wilhelm, University of Georgia (twilhelm@uga.edu)

 

Law and Courts Service Award
Given annually to recognize service to the Law & Courts Section in the literal sense, as in service on committees and in leadership positions, as well as service within the Section, as in service to the profession within the field of law and courts in the form of archiving data, promoting infrastructure, representing the profession in the media, etc.  Previous award recipients can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/Archives/past_awa_rec.html#Service.

Nominations should be submitted before March 15, 2016, to the chair and members of the selection committee:
Matthew Hall (Chair), University of Notre Dame (matt.hall@nd.edu)
Bethany Blackstone, University of North Texas (blackstone@unt.edu)
Rebecca Gill, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (rebecca.gill@unlv.edu)
Kirk Randazzo, University of South Carolina (kirk.randazzo@gmail.com)
Susanne Schorpp, Georgia State University (sschorpp@gsu.edu)